Posted by: Tom | February 25, 2010

My name is Inigo Montoya…

…you kill my father. Prepare to die.

Vikki hasn’t been feeling very well recently, bless her. Not being at her happiest last night, it was time for “Operation Comfort Zone”. Two oven pizzas, a bottle of Casillero del Diablo’s delicious Carmenere and her favourite film: The Princess Bride.

I defy anyone to not be cheered up by that movie. Such a wonderfully silly pantomime, but its razor sharp in places and has some gut-bustingly funny scenes; Inigo and Westley’s fight, “MAWWIGE”, the majority of Andre the Giant’s screentime. Of course, there’s some kissing, and it also has possibly the most gleefully shameless handwave in the history of cinema. “I spent the last few years building up an immunity to iocane powder.” Exit, stage left. Pure brilliance.

Possibly doesn’t mean much out of context to people who haven’t seen it, but if you haven’t, you must! It will surely brighten the murkiest wet afternoon. I could sit here typing out my favourite quotes all night, but out of sheer laziness I’ll just post the link to the iMDB quotes page: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0093779/quotes

I expect everyone who has read this blog to have watched or rewatched Princess Bride by Sunday night. Demanding, I know, but you’ll thank me for it. It certainly did the trick last night.

_______

In other news, I spent today at Nintendo’s European Gamers Summit. Was a great event at the o2. Great, because I got to play Super Mario Galaxy 2, which left me giddy with joy. Metroid Other M is shaping up nicely too. I’ll be writing some ‘proper’ words on both those games very soon though, so look out for that.

Time for bed Zebedee, see y’all tomorrow.

Responses

  1. I saw TPB for the first time only a couple of years ago, and I actually grumbled about it being on, as I thought it would be shit.

    What a mistake-a to make-a! It’s brilliant! Should really watch it again.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

